Valentine’s Day doesn’t have to suck

This is how my first blog started :

Hi, my name is Steve. My wonderful wife, Sue, and I were together for over 40 years. She recently succumbed to cancer, after battling it for 14 years.

It’s very difficult to put into words how much we loved each other. We met as teenagers and didn’t just fall in love, we avalanched into it. We never wanted to be apart.

 

Well, it’s Valentine’s Day, a time for cards, flowers, candy, a nice meal, and love. I really do hope that couples everywhere have a wonderful time.

But, when your love is not here, and I’m not just talking absent, it can truly be a tough time. Sue and I spent 0ver 40 Valentine’s together, and now we can’t.

Or at least, that’s what I thought. It could have been very easy for me to just laze around in bed or in an armchair, completely lost in grief and misery. And that’s actually how the day started. But……………

I decided to make a change. I burned myself a CD of lots of our favourite songs. Then I played it quietly in the background. Then I got out the best photos that I could find. Then, as I listened and looked, my mind and heart took me, and us, on a nice romantic journey in my head, enjoying all the memories as if they were happening now. It was beautiful.

Now, of course I know it’s not real, it’s just make believe, and, no, I probably couldn’t do it everyday, but just for now, it’s great, and I feel so much better.

Y’see, lots of very well-intentioned people tell me to move on, it’s not healthy to dwell on the past, to want what you cannot have, and I’m sure that in their heads, that would be for the best.

But, the thing is, that my heart won’t let me do that. Quite simply, my love for Sue goes on. As I sit in the lounge, would I love Sue if she was in the garden, or the kitchen? Of course I would. Just because I couldn’t see her, doesn’t mean that I stopped loving her.

In the same way, I may not be able to actually see Sue now, but my love for her continues. And, for the forseeable future, it always will.

Anyways, that’s enough for now, the music is playing, and the photos await, so to all those couples in love, I sincerely wish a wonderful Valentine’s Day. As for me, I’m OK, I’m not alone.

Look after yourselves and each other,

Steve

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

